What does ~ mean? Korean talk!

So I’d noticed that when I was speaking to my Korean friends I’d see this little symbol all the time added on to the end of a sentence! What the frig does it mean???

Now I’m going to add in a little conversation between me and my Korean friend to demonstrate because when I try to type the little symbol on here it ends up looking like a dash: ~ (as you can see!) (sometimes it looks like a dash sometimes it doesn’t, I checked earlier and it was a squiggle!!)

eugenendlilyYou’ll have to click it to be able to see better!

So as you can see, my friend was using the ~ (screw it just gonna type it anyway even if it fails!) after a short phrase and even repeated it multiple times like this: ~~~~~~~~

I asked my other Korean friend what it meant and low and behold he had an answer! Basically it’s just a way of expressing that you’re being friendly, cute, active or polite. I asked him how to use it and my friend replied with:

davidme

So its mainly attached to words or small phrases like ‘goodbye’ or ‘hello!’ or ‘thankyou!’ but I’ve seen it also used excessively with short words or mini expressions like ‘Ah’ E.g. ‘Ah~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~’ like my friend did in the first picture. Using it like this is expressing activeness or enthusiasm or maybe as an exaggeration!

So the next time your Korean friend uses ~ you’ll know the meaning behind it! 🙂 Go forth and ~~~~~~~!!

Leave a Reply

